O-RAN Open Summit, February 25, 2021

The O-RAN Open Summit has finished, but you can re-play the event on-demand.
To navigate to a concrete session, please follow the time stamps listed below.

0:00:00 Keynotes (1h18’)

  • 0:02:24 Opening address - Alex Jinsung Choi, COO of O-RAN ALLIANCE and SVP Technology Strategy & Innovation of Deutsche Telekom
  • 0:10:50 Chairman address - Andre Fuetsch, Chairman of the O-RAN ALLIANCE and Chief Technology Officer of AT&T
  • 0:18:45 O-RAN Technical progress - Chih-Lin I, Co-Chair of O-RAN Technical Steering Committee and China Mobile Chief Scientist, Wireless Technologies, China Mobile Research Institute
  • 0:47:52 Testing and Integration Focus Group update - David Orloff, Co-chair of O-RAN Testing and Integration Focus Group, AT&T
  • 0:58:22 O-RAN Software Community update - Jack Murray, Co-Chair of OSC Technical Oversight Committee, AT&T

1:18:22 Panel discussion: Paths to O-RAN implementation (1h8’)

O-RAN is creating specifications and open source to enable open RAN implementations, but there is no single path or approach to implementing O-RAN. Implementations using open source modules, proprietary modules, or a combination of the two are all feasible. Operators and suppliers can create different paths and approaches to implementing O-RAN, optimized for their specific network and customer needs. The speakers will discuss their views and/or plans and/or experiences towards implementing RAN networks and products compatible with O-RAN standards.

  • Moderator: Hank Kafka, AT&T
  • Sadayuki Abeta, NTT DOCOMO
  • Olivier Simon, Orange
  • Daniele Franceschini, TIM
  • Sachin Katti, O-RAN TSC Co-chair
  • Caroline Chan, Intel
  • Giampaolo Tardioli, Keysight
  • Oguz Sunay, ONF
  • Thomas Barnett, Nokia
  • Ganesh Shenbagaraman, Radisys

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Alex Jinsung Choi

Chief Operating Officer of the O-RAN ALLIANCE and SVP of Strategy and Technology Innovation of Deutsche Telekom.
Andre Fuetsch

Chairman of the O-RAN ALLIANCE and Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, AT&T Services, Inc.
Dr. Chih-Lin I

Co-chair of O-RAN Technical Steering Committee and China Mobile Chief Scientist, Wireless Technologies, China Mobile Research Institute
David Orloff

Co-chair of O-RAN Testing & Integration Focus Group and Director, RAN Introduction, AT&T
John (Jack) Murray

Co-chair of O-RAN Software Community Technical Oversight Committee and AVP of Wireless and Access Systems Architecture at AT&T


Hank Kafka

EC and alternate board member, O-RAN ALLIANCE
Sadayuki Abeta,

Ph.DVice President, General Manager of Radio Access Network Development Department, NTT DOCOMO Inc.
Mr Olivier Simon

Global Radio Innovation Director, Orange Labs Networks
Daniele Franceschini

Head of Technology Innovation, Standardization & IPR, TIM
Sachin Katti

Co-Chair of O-RAN Technical Steering Committee and Associate Professor at Stanford University

Caroline Chan

VP, GM, Network Business Incubator Division, Intel
Giampaolo Tardioli, Ph.D

VP of Network Infrastructure unit, Communication Solutions Group, Keysight Technologies
Oguz Sunay

Vice President R&D, Mobility at Open Networking Foundation (ONF)
Thomas Barnett

Mobile Networks Strategy & Technology, Tech. Evolution Leader, Nokia
Ganesh Shenbagaraman

Head of Integrated Products & Ecosystems at Radisys